Public Holidays in South Africa

On public holidays most offices are closed in South Africa. However, you will find that most shops and supermarkets are open especially in the bigger shopping centres. Malls also in smaller towns, are generally open on the official holidays, but might have shorter opening hours, please double check with the shopping centre.

If a public holiday falls on a Sunday, then the South African schools, government departments and general offices (banks, insurance, post office etc.) and smaller shops will be closed on the following Monday. These 'extra' days are highlighted in red below.

Public Holidays

2016

New Year’s Day: Friday 1 January 2016

Human Rights Day: Monday 21 March 2016

Good Friday: Friday 25 March 2016

Family Day/Easter Monday: Monday 28 March 2016

Freedom Day: Wednesday 27 April 2016

Workers Day: Sunday 1 May 2016

'Official Holiday': Monday 2 May 2016

Youth Day: Thursday 16 June 2016

Woman’s Day: Tuesday 9 August 2016

Heritage Day: Saturday 24 September 2016

Day of Reconciliation: Friday 16 December 2016

Christmas Day: Sunday 25 December 2016

Day of Goodwill: Monday 26 December 2016

'Official Holiday': Tuesday 27 December 2016


2017

New Year’s Day: Sunday 1 January 2017

Monday 2 January 2017 will be a public holiday

Human Rights Day: Tuesday 21 March 2017

Good Friday: Friday 14 April 2017

Family Day: Monday 17 April 2017 (Easter Monday)

Freedom Day: Thursday 27 April 2017

Workers Day: Monday 1 May 2017

Youth Day: Friday 16 June 2017

Woman’s Day: Wednesday 9 August 2017

Heritage Day: Sunday 24 September 2017

Monday 25 September 2017 is an official holiday

Day of Reconciliation: Saturday 16 December 2017

Christmas Day: Monday 25 December 2017

Day of Goodwill: Tuesday 26 December 2017


Holidays Seasons in South Africa

If you want to know how Cape Town celebrates the Christmas season, then please read on my page on Christmas in Cape Town with lots of useful tips about shopping hours and much more. 

Also be sure to know when there are school holidays in South Africa, so you do not get stuck with high season prices, if you can avoid it:-) More info on South African schools, holidays and school terms


Other useful info? Cape Town events and festivals info

Make sure to visit one of the many exciting festivals when visiting or staying in South Africa. Read more on my special pages about: Festivals in South Africa - Cape Wine Festivals - Cape Town Events Calendar

Be always informed with our newsletter. It's free!

Recent Articles

  1. French in Cape Town | French expats | Cape Town French Community Info

    Dec 07, 16 07:11 AM

    Get to know where the French in Cape Town meet, where to connect with fellow expats, where get the best french bread and more...

    Read More

  2. Cape Winelands Events | Summer Festivals | What's on at the Cape Wine Estates

    Nov 30, 16 09:19 AM

    Visit the Cape Winelands! Fabulous events are hosted this summer at the Cape's wine estates ranging from family picnics and festive markets to concerts and movie nights under the stars. Read more.

    Read More

  3. British Expat Interview | ExpatCapeTown | Living and Working in Cape Town

    Nov 29, 16 06:42 AM

    Our British Expat Interview with Mark will provide insights on moving to Cape Town with kids

    Read More