South Africa Visa

When entering South Africa, either a South Africa visa or any other type of permit such as a valid work permit, study permit or residency permit is required by the Immigrations officer at the border posts such as Cape Town international airport.

Travellers and visitors to South Africa either need to apply for a visa in their home country or a visitor’s permit is granted to you by the officer when you enter South Africa. This applies only if you are a citizen of a visa exempt country. The visitor’s permit, commonly simply referred to as ‘visa’, is usually granted for a maximum period of three months to foreign citizens or travellers whose permanent residence is outside South Africa. On entry to South Africa, the visa is granted on the conditions of the stay (or reasons of stay, i.e. travels, study purposes or medical treatment) in which it was applied for. These conditions need to be observed and cannot be changed. If you need help when you want to renew a permit or want to change your status (for example when applying for a study permit), contact an immigration practitioner for advice.

The officer at the Immigration counter at the port of entry will only review your application for a visitor’s visa if you are coming from a visa exempt country. Visitors from other countries, which are not exempt from visas, have to apply at an embassy or mission for a South Africa visa as such visas are not granted at the port of entry. Exemption applies for maritime crewmembers. The application process for all who need to apply for a visa outside the country in general takes between 4 days and six weeks according to the DHA (October 2013). Costs for these visas vary between R425 and R1520 (visas for working in the entertainment industry)

Who can apply for a visitor’s visa to South Africa?

Visitor’s Visas are granted at the discretion of the Department of Home Affairs to persons who visit South Africa:

  • as tourists or for the purpose of visiting family or friends (maximum three months. Application for renewal possible, but at discretion of the DHA)
  • as business people and attend a conference or work in the entertainment  industry (with the intention of working a maximum of six month in the country)
  •  as part of a maritime crew
  • as a student or professional on a cultural/economic or social exchange programme for a maximum stay of three months
  •  in compliance of Treaty Conditions
  • for medical treatment (emergency treatment is an exception)
  • for transit to neighboring countries such as Mozambique, Namibia or Swaziland.

South Africa Visa Documents

Documents needed when traveling to South Africa you need for any visit or visa

  •   A valid passport or travel document for your intended stay
  •  At least one blank page in your passport for endorsements
  • A valid visa, if required
  • Sufficient funds to pay for your day-to-day expenses during your stay
  • A return or onward ticket
  •  A ‘yellow fever certificate’ if your journey starts or entails passing through the yellow fever belt of Africa or South America.

South Africa Visa - Exempt Countries

Among the countries which are exempt from South African visas are:

African Union Laissez Passer, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Chile (only ordinary passport holders), Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany (except in diplomatic staff due to assume duty), Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, Monaco, Namibia (ordinary passport holders), Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama (only ordinary passport holders), Paraguay, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, British Islands Bailiwick of Guernsey and Jersey, Isle of Man and various British Oversees Territories, United States of America (except in diplomatic staff due to assume duty), Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Beware that visitors’ permits are issued for different length of visit. Nationals of some countries are allowed a maximal stay of 90 days, whereas others such as Turkey are granted a maximal stay of 30 days. Citizens who are holders of diplomatic, official and service passports might be granted different length of stays as well.

For a more comprehensive listing go to this DHA page. 

More information on Immigration to South Africa

Return from South Africa Visa to ExpatCapeTown Homepage 

South African Permits

The Department of Home Affairs (DHA) distinguishes between the following categories regarding permits:

Visas (for Travellers and Visitors, only granted for short stays up to three months)

Temporary Residency Visas which are usually granted for up to three years

Permanent Residency Permits which are granted:- to independent individuals who are in the country on a work permit for over five years, are married with a South African for over five years, so-called 'Direct Residency Permits' and to other persons moving to the country on so-called' Residency-on-other-Grounds' permits. 

Read more here

Expat Info

Cape Town Expats

Expat Group 

Expat Interviews

Cape Town Housing

Cape Town Transport

Cape Town Health

Cape Town for Families

Why Cape Town

Cape Town Attractions

Activities for Kids


Subscribe to your FREE ExpatCapeTown Newsletter

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you ExpatCapeTown Newsletter.